Formed in 2003, this Afrikaans punk band has single-handedly changed the landscape of Afrikaans rock music. Consisting of Francois Van Coke (vocals), Hunter Kennedy (guitar), Johnny de Ridder (guitar), Wynand Myburgh (bass) and Jaco Venter (Drums), their first EP As Jy Met Vuur Speel Sal Jy Brand struck a chord with disenfranchised youth stifled by conservative religious Afrikaans culture. Their first single Hemel op die Platteland made history when it became the first Afrikaans song to be playlisted on 5fm. The band made national headlines in April 2006 when Myburgh wrote the words "fok god� on the wallet of a fan while they were discussing religion. Two more albums followed before the band called a hiatus to focus on musical side projects such as Van Coke Kartel, aKing and Die Heuwels Fantasties. But the band has continued to play a number of high-profile gigs and released a new EP Antibiotika last year. � Lloyd Gedye

Lunch spot: Beluga, Cape Town